News Obituaries Community Sports Opinion Religion Special Sections Photos Contact us Customer Service Email Updates
story.lead_photo.caption SUBMITTED Carson Stell, Matthew Anderson and Jonathan Brinkley display their regional certificates from the governor's all-region competition. They will compete in the all-state competition next month.

GENTRY -- Matthew Anderson, Jonathan Brinkley and Carson Stell from Gentry High School Conversion Charter are in the running to win the state title in the third annual All-State Coding Competition next month at Fayetteville.

Seventeen teams of Arkansas high school students winning regional coding competitions qualified to participate in the event.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson praised students for rising to meet the competitive challenges each year since the formation of the contest.

"I am proud of the creativity and innovation that our students showcase year after year in this competition," the governor said. "And I am confident that the teams this year will be no exception."

The all-state computer coding event will take place May 18 at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Each member of the first-place team there will receive a $2,000 award that will be deposited into a 529 College Savings plan. Similarly, $1,000 will be deposited in 529 accounts for second-place team members and $500 to the accounts of third-place winners.

Schools of the winning teams will receive $10,000, $6,000 and $4,000, respectively, to be used for their computer science programs.

The prizes and competition expenses are provided by a Verizon grant to ARCodeKids.

In last year's competition, Gentry's team of Matthew Anderson, William Babb and Jonathan Brinkley took third and each received scholarships of $500. The school received $4,000 to support its computer science program.

The schools and their team members that won regional honors at sites across the state to qualify for the 2019 competition are:

• Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts in Hot Springs: William Shaver, Karsen Beck and Noah Raby.

• Cabot High School: Cody Billingsley, Ethan Peck and Stanley Van.

• Conway High School: Archer Murray, Hunter Fleming and Jonathon Hopkins.

• Don Tyson School of Innovation in Springdale: James Cassady, Benjamin Easterling and Abigail Herrera.

• Fayetteville High School: Jan Bobda Tagne, Andrew Ritter and Lucas Faupel.

• Gentry High School Conversion Charter: Matthew Anderson, Jonathan Brinkley and Carson Stell.

• Greenwood High School: Ryan Stracener, William Hutchinson and Shea Brown.

• Haas Hall Academy in Rogers: Lucas Jaggernauth, Bradley Baltz and Austin Parker.

• Haas Hall Academy in Fayetteville: Daniel Whitmire, Julian Sanker and Owen Bell.

• Horatio High School: Hannah Norman, Duncan Connor and Jacob Brecheisn.

• Little Rock Central High School: Zhaoying Li, Hetvi Shah and Anne Li.

• Rogers Heritage High School: Allyson Hayes, Luis Guerra and Adam Siwiec.

• Rogers High School: Garrett Chrisman, Brady Self and Jack Norris.

• Rogers New Technology High School: David Daniel and Westley Taylor.

• Russellville High School: Michael O'Connor, Michael Draughon and Xin Zhang.

• Spring Hill High School: Muhammad Athallah, Nick Yates and Shay Stout.

• Valley View High School in Jonesboro: Luke Wilson, Isaac La Ferney and Alex Hoffman.

Community on 04/10/2019

Print Headline: Gentry High School in running for state coding title

Sponsor Content