News Obits School/Sports Community Opinion Photos

— The Benton County 4-H Foundation held their annual 4-H Achievement Banquet recently at the Benton County Fairgrounds. The evening was attended by 260 guests including 4-H members, parents and supporters. Following the dinaner, awards were given to 4-Hers who had completed a 2009 project journal and to those who had won other top honors.

Benton County 4-H Foundation Scholarships were awarded to nine deserving seniors. Dustin Dixon of Bloomfield 4-H received a $1,200 scholarship and the following received $1,000 scholarships: Jacy Alsup of A.C.E. 4-H Club, Shane Lovell and Caitlin Taylor of Centerton 4-H, Rachael Hillhouse of Bloomfield 4-H, Jacob Chatman and Billy Meyers of Apple Spur 4-H Club, Elijah O’Mara-Mezzano of Town and Country 4-H and RobbieMyers of Logan 4-H.

The N.W.A. Garden Coop sponsored three scholarships for 4-Hers involved in a garden project. Winners were Dustin Dixon, $500; Shane Lovell, $250; and Rachael Hillhouse, $250.

Jacy Alsup received a $1,000 renewable Mentorship scholarship andCaitlin Taylor a $500 Nina Dean Patton Memorial Scholarship.

State journal project winners were presented special gifts. The recipients were: Jacy Alsup, Beef Project; Dustin Dixon, Plant and Soil Science; Brent Dorn, Horse Project; Tyler Jarvis, Cotton; Shane Lovell, Fitness Leadership; Billy Meyers, Leadership; Robbie Myers, Beef; Lincoln Parker, Dairy; and Caitlin Taylor, Foods and Nutrition.

First year awards were given to two 4-Hers who had been extra busy their first year in 4-H These awards went to Melissa Estes of HandZone 4-H and Steven Altman of Evergreen 4-H.

Community Service Awards were presented to five 4-Hers who had excelled in helping others in 2009. These winners were: Laurel Mayo and Tyler Simpson of Centerton 4-H, Shelbi Knipe and Rachael Hillhouse of Bloomfield 4-H and Mitchell Baker of Nicodemus 4-H Club.

Three Leadership awards were given to 4-Hers who had shown leadership growth this year. Leadership winners were: Anna Hope of Evergreen 4-H, Sarah Mills of Bloomfield4-H and Jacy Alsup of the A.C.E. 4-H Club.

Junior, Intermediate and Senior County Champions were awarded for their overall 4-H achievements during their 4-H careers. Junior County Champions were Jurnee Wilson of Centerton 4-H Club and Noah Smith of Town and Country 4-H. Janee Shofner of Centerton 4-H and Sayer Smith of Town and Country took the Intermediate top honors and Sarah Connolly of Battlefield 4-H and Dustin Dixon of Bloomfield won the Senior County Champion title.

Diana Dixon of Bloomfield 4-H and Lavon Stark of Town and Country 4-H were recognized as Leaders of the Year. The “Friend of 4-H” award was given to the Benton County Master Gardeners.

4-H is a youth development organization of the University of Arkansas open to all youth between the ages of 5 and 19 regardless of race, color, national origin, religion, gender, disability or any other legally protected status. For more information about 4-H call the Benton County Extension Office at 479-271-1060.

News, Pages 12 on 11/18/2009

Print Headline: Benton County 4-Hers Receive Many Awards At Annual Banquet

Sponsor Content